Turns out I have to start a brand new playthrough because I chose the wrong arbitrary option. Yeah, no thanks. Fuck that. It's too bad the story will forever be incomplete but I really don't wanna go through the trouble.
Imagine going through World of Light on Smash in its entirety only to find that like 4 hours in you clicked the wrong button so you need to start a new playthrough in order to actually get 100%.